Citizen’s Advisory Committee

DCLA has established a Citizens’ Advisory Committee that will advise DCLA on the development and implementation of the cultural plan. The Commissioner of Cultural Affairs appoints the Committee Chair. The Mayor’s Office and City Council Speaker’s Office appoints at least three members, each appointing an equal number. Each borough president appoints one member.

During the development of the Cultural Plan, the Committee will meet at least quarterly. Subsequent to the Cultural Plan’s completion, the Committee will get together every two years to make recommendations to the Commissioner of Cultural Affairs in response to DCLA’s update on the implementation of the plan. The Committee will disband after it has reviewed two cycles of DCLA’s updates or after five years, whichever comes first.

The Cultural Plan will also be informed by, reviewed and approved by the Cultural Affairs Advisory Commission, which advises the work of the NYC Department of Cultural Affairs.

Chair – Appointed by the DCLA Commissioner
Ben Rodriguez-Cubeñas, Program Director, Rockefeller Brothers Fund

Mayoral Appointees – Appointed by the Mayor
Tino Gagliardi, President of Associated Musicians of Greater New York, Local 802
Karen Brooks Hopkins, Senior Fellow in Residence, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
Eric Pryor, President, Harlem School of the Arts; former Director, Center for Arts Education
Sandra Jackson Dumont, Chair, Education Department, Metropolitan Museum of Art
Miguel Luciano, Artist, Resident Artist at PS 109
Joanna Haigood, Choreographer, Dancing in the Streets
Arnold Lehman, Former Director, Brooklyn Museum
Tattfoo Tan, Artist

Speaker’s Appointees
Catherine A. Green, Executive Director/Founder, ARTs East New York Inc.
Daisy Rodriguez, Director of Government Affairs, Department of Institutional Advancement, American Museum of Natural History
Adam Huttler, Founder and Executive Director, Fractured Atlas
Rosalba Rolón, Co-founder and Artistic Director, Pregones Theater
Gianna P. Cerbone-Teoli, Executive Chef/Owner, Manducatis Rustica
Tia Powell Harris, President and Executive Director, Weeksville Heritage Center (WHC)
Kenneth Tabachnick, Senior Associate, AEA Consulting
Kenneth Pietrobono, Artist

Borough President Appointees
John Calvelli, EVP, Public Affairs, The Wildlife Conservation Society
Bronx Borough President Appointee

Jennifer Walden, Director of Cultural Affairs and Tourism
Queens Borough President Appointee

Myrah Brown Greene, Arts Consultant and Independent Curator
Brooklyn Borough President Appointee

Amanda Straniere, Community Campaign Coordinator, Staten Island Museum
Staten Island Borough President Appointee

Verdery Roosevelt, Senior Vice President, Program & Nonprofit Investments, Upper Manhattan Empowerment Zone
Manhattan Borough President Appointee